Kelvin Lee: On your wedding day

by Henrylito D. Tacio

Marriage is a book of which the first chapter is written in poetry and the remaining chapters in prose. — Beverley Nichols

 

When Kelvin Lee started writing a column for Sun Star Davao, I really didn’t much about him.  But I was intrigued by him because he writes eloquently and his subject matters always enthrall me.  From time to time, I read his column whether I am in the bus or having my coffee break.

 

I finally met him when I attended our Christmas party held at that time in Waterfront Insular Hotel.  Our first meeting was instantaneous.  He is vivacious, friendly, and very accommodating.   We did not talk long enough (either I left early or he was also busy).

 

Later on, I learned that Kelvin attended grade school at Ateneo de Davao and then went to Davao Central High School (at that time known as Davao Chinese High School).  He left Davao to study in Ateneo de Manila. 

 

Education is something a person gets for himself, not that which someone else give or does to him. – John Holt

 

After graduating from college, he went to work in Ateneo Grade school before leaving for Beijing to study Chinese and work in a foreign company there.  But after two years, he came back to the Philippines.

 

Although his family lives in Davao, he opted to stay in Manila to study law at the Ateneo de Manila School of Law.  This was in 2004 and he graduated this year and also took the bar exam.  He is still waiting for the result.

 

“I was very blessed because I survived law school while juggling a relationship and writing a weekly column for the Sun Star Davao,” he says now.  “That wasn’t easy, and required a lot of sacrifice, especially on Dot’s part. I couldn’t spend that much time with her during my four years of law school. But I do know that we now plan to make up for all that lost time, especially after we get married!”

 

Marriage is not for a moment; it is for a lifetime.  It requires long and serious preparation.  It is not to be leaped into, but entered with solemn steps of deliberation.  For one of the most intimate and difficult of human relationship is that of marriage.  — Gina Cerminara.

 

Yes, my dear friend and fellow-columnist Kelvin will soon be entering that infinitely rewarding at its best and unspeakably oppressive at its worst thing called marriage.  On December 7, he will tie the nuptial knot with his beloved Dot.

 

“Under Chinese tradition, there are certain days that are considered very auspicious and lucky.  December 7 is one of them and that is the reason why we choose to be married on the said day.  In fact, a lot of other Chinese couples are getting married on this day as well,” Kelvin said.

 

Love comes from the most unexpected places, so goes a ling of a song.  But for Kelvin and Dot, it wasn’t.  In fact, both studied in the same college – Ateneo de Manila – but the two never met during the entire four years of study.  Shades of the movie, Sleepless in Seatlle?

 

“We only met after college,” Kelvin revealed.  “Thankfully, we had many mutual friends and our relatives knew each other. It was only a matter of time before we met, and I thank God we did.”  This was when he came back to the Philippines after his two-year stint in China.

 

Friendship is one of the sweetest joys of life.  Many might have failed beneath the bitterness of their trial had they not found a friend. – Charles Spurgeon

 

One thing about his wife-to-be, according to Kelvin, is that she changed him for the better.  “She made me realize the truly important things in life, like love and friendship and family,” he added.

 

When he met her the first time, it was not a case of love at first sight.  “We actually started out as friends who would joke around with each other and sometimes even argue a lot, since we both had strong opinions on some things. Somehow, we fell in love.”

 

So far as I am concerned, I would never choose a woman unless I were sure she had also chosen me.  I could not love a woman unless I felt in the depths of my being that she also loved me; I would wish her to seek me even as I sought her; were she not made to have me I would be tepid to have her. – E. Merrill Root

 

Kelvin could not recall their first date together.  “But one memorable date was when we had a picnic at the Ateneo de Manila school grounds in Loyola,” he recalls.  “It was perfect. The only hitch was that she didn’t know it was a date. At the time, we were still friends, although I already liked her. But we had fun anyway.”

 

All tragedies are finished by a death, all comedies by a marriage. – Lord Byron

 

Just like most men who are getting the right woman for him, Kelvin considers himself lucky to have Dot finally as his own.  “Dot is an exceptionally special girl, full of love, life, and laughter. I am lucky to be the man to marry her,” he says.

 

Don’t marry the person you think you can live with; marry only the individual you think you can’t live without.  ~James C. Dobson

 

To Kelvin and Dot, accept my warmest congratulations!  Please keep these words of wisdom from Mignon McLaughlin: “A successful marriage requires falling in love many times, always with the same person.”  Let it be your motto together. — ###

 

2 responses to “Kelvin Lee: On your wedding day

  1. Pingback: Thoughts on Marriage « Lyreflower’s Blog

  2. I actually wrote this in 2009 bt I only published it now in 2010

Leave a Reply

